Sign in with
Your question
Solved

WD 1TB USB 3.0 Ext HD is broke recommend a new enclosure?

Last response: in Storage
May 3, 2011 4:01:38 PM

I have a 1 TB Western Digital External Hard Drive that is USB 3.0 / 2.0 compatible.
Somehow I broke the Usb port it just came out. I was bummed out and thought I had to buy a new one or something until someone told me I could put the hard drive in a new enclosure. However, I'm fairly new to taking technical items apart. I have gotten the case apart but I can't remove still some of the parts to the hard drive since it requires one of the small screwdrivers. Would anyone know what size screwdrivers I would need? Also what areas I need to remove? AND MOST IMPORTANTLY what is the best enclosure to use that is 3.0 compatible able to fit 3.5" hdd?

More about : 1tb usb ext broke recommend enclosure

Best solution

a c 316 G Storage
May 3, 2011 4:43:20 PM

The only things that you should disconnect to move the drive are the power cable and the data cable that connect the drive to the rest of the electronics, plus the screws that hold the drive in place if there are any (often, there are not).

If you are talking about removing parts attached to the hard drive, don't do that. It's a pretty good way to guarantee that your drive will never work again. (Yes, Member X, I know that you once swapped a drive board plus the config chip and it worked. But that is rare, and requires experience).

If you are talking about removing parts of the enclosure that convert from the USB interface to the SATA interface, don't bother. A new USB 3.0 enclosure will include those electronics, and the ones that you remove probably won't fit in the new case.