Sign in with
Your question

Gigabyte X58 UD4P

Last response: in Motherboards
January 22, 2010 4:08:12 PM

Hello everyone

Don’t mind the spelling – and grammatical mistakes, English is not my mothertongue ;) 

These issues have been ‘partly’ discussed in other threads but no-one responds there anymore and the issue of the threadstarter wasn’t 100 % my issue.

To the point, I have two problems:
1/ First, I have Corsair 1333 MHz memory and when I boot, my PC says it is running at 1066 MHz, the default value. I have not find a manual to adjust this in my BIOS. I am not a computer expert; I have read a lot about adjusting it but nothing says how I have to do this and what I exactly have to change in BIOS ... .

2/ Second, my PC often 'reboots' while starting up, by which I mean I start the PC, everything is fine untill the screen says something about Memory frequency 1066 MHz, then memory testing OK and then POOF ... the PC restarts. Everything is fine the second time it boots. This happens only when the PC has been off, never when I reboot.

However … I haven't had a single crash in Windows, the system is stable as a rock (most stable system I ever had as a matter of fact! :)  ). I have done these tests to exclude parts of my hardware:
- Memtest: runs with 0 errors for 14 hours (however, as mentioned before, memory runs at 1066 MHz while it is designed to run at 1333 MHz …)
- Test my HD’s with HDtune: 100 % OK
- CPU tested with IntelBurntest for a long time, also Prime95 done all the tests: 100 % OK
- Futuremark, 3DMark, Furmark … to test the gfx-card: 100 % OK
- Temperatures of GPU, CPU, … all well within limits (idle and stressed of course)
- Stand-by mode works perfectly
- …

To sum it up, I have tested everything I can think off and everything is ok.