What can I use to measure GPU temperature?

thebski

Distinguished
Aug 19, 2009
I just installed a new SeaSonic 850W power supply and a BFG Tech GTX 275 OCX in my computer. I fired it up and everything was fine, and it seemed to be fine. I downloaded a John Deere farm game demo just to try it out, and I played for about 10 minutes (maybe a little less) and the screen froze. The first thing I thought of was that the card was overheating, but that game shouldn't even make that card break a sweat. So I opened the side of my case and blew a fan on the whole mobo and it worked fine. After a while I took the fan off and within a few minutes it locked up again.

Anyone have any ideas? This game shouldn't even make this card work at all. I'm thinking about going and picking up Crysis to try and really make it work and see if it's the game, or the card. I'm pretty new at this tech stuff, so I'm trying to learn as I go. Any help is appreciated.

thebski

Distinguished
Aug 19, 2009
Alright guys. I got the EVGA Precision. I'm installing the original Far Cry, and I'll see what the temps do. It didn't sound to me like the fan ever sped up. Could the fan controller be bad? I shouldn't be jumping to conclusions. I'll play around and see what happens. Thanks guys.

thebski

Distinguished
Aug 19, 2009
Alright, I'm not sure what the deal is. I played for a while. I let the GPU temp climb to 76 and the fan speed had still not turned up. I turned the fan up to 75% using EVGA Precision and it cooled right down to like 66 or 67. I alt tabbed back out of Far Cry to EVGA Precision running on my second monitor to change the fan speed back to 40 and auto (like I had originally found it) and when I went back to far cry the game chopped for 20 -30 seconds and finally froze. CPU temp was 63 and GPU temp was 67.

I'll go ahead and give a system run down.

P4 630 Prescott 3.0 GHz Processor
BFG Tech GTX 275 OCX Graphics Card
4GB GeiL DDR2 DDR533 RAM
ABIT AL8 Intel 945P Mobo