How to spend my money cleverly -- Q6600 B3

jabbye

Distinguished
Jul 23, 2009
Hi there.

I'm writing this thread hoping for some help on what I should do in regards of my computer.
In September I will have saved up money (tax return!) and I've decided to give my system a boost to be able to handle the new games that'll be coming out beautifully (Crysis is no biggie). I'd also like to speed up tasks such as compiling (I'm an avid programmer). I'm also moving big files around on my system, but I'm not sure if I want to invest in SSD's ;-)

--- Here's my current build ---
CPU:Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4GHz (B3-stepping) -- Overclocked to 3.2GHz [Link]
HSF:XIGMATEK HDT-S1284EE 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler [Link]
MB:MSI P35 Neo-F LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard [Link]
PSU:Fortron/Source Epsilon 700W

GFX:XFX GeForce 8800GTX 600M 768MB XT GDDR3 [Link]

RAM:2x Corsair TWIN2X 6400 DDR2, 2048MB CL5

HDD 1:Western Digital Raptor 74GB SATA 16MB 10 000RPM
HDD 2:Western Digital Caviar SE16 500GB SATA2

Case:Cooler Master Stacker 831 SE [Link]

RESOLUTION 1920x1200

--- Current temperatures ---
I haven't been able to get Arctic Silver 5 yet so currently I had to use Arctic Silver Ceramique Thermal Compound instead. I am also very unsure about the airflow in the case.
The case has 1x 120mm fan in the front that sucks air in, and an exhaust fan of 120mm in the back.

Core Temp with Tj Max = 100C.

Idle:43 42 41 40
Load:67 65 65 63

---- End temperatures ---

What I'd like to know first is whether to toss this motherboard or not. I've seen that it is broadly labeled as a low-end motherboard. I've read similar topics before, that have discussed whether it'll be best to just scrap the Q6600 for an i7 920, and that's one of the things I want to know.
I guess an upgrade of the graphics card is in order, but I am unable to use CF/SLI with my current motherboard as it isn't supported. Unfortunately.