Sign in with
Your question
Solved

I7 + 4890 build, can't decide on mobo or cpu cooler

Last response: in Systems
July 31, 2009 11:31:51 PM

This is my first attempt at a desktop build and I am in no way an expert with compatibility of parts. I've already bought the case which is a Xclio windtunnel and the peripherals and monitor are already taken care of. My only interest in overclocking would be a mild overclock to give my system a little boost. I do intend on crossfire and maybe SLI in the future if the next generation of cards from nvidia impress me more on price than ATI. Below are the parts I haven't purchased yet but have decided to buy.

video card - SAPPHIRE Vapor-X 100269VXLE Radeon HD 4890 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Retail

cpu - Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor Model BX80601920 - Retail

hard drive - Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive - OEM (might get SSD in the future but could care less at this point)

RAM - OCZ Gold 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Low Voltage Desktop Memory Model OCZ3G1600LV6GK - Retail

PSU - CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power ... - Retail

My question is on which motherboard and cpu cooler I should buy. First of all I would like a mobo with room for crossfire 4890s since I might decide to break down and buy a second 4890 a few months after I purchase this build. Second, I'm willing to spend some money on quality but don't want this mobo to go over $250. Third I just want to know anyone's preference on a cpu cooler that would go great with this board and deal with the small amount of overclocking I might do.
July 31, 2009 11:45:13 PM

Mobo: Asus P6T SE

CPU Cooler: Sunbeam Cor Contact Freezer (120mm one) + Sunbeam LGA1366 backplate
m
l

Best solution

July 31, 2009 11:47:55 PM