Help with first build.. BSOD

ecurb

Distinguished
Jul 22, 2009
This is my first build so I don't know too much about troubleshooting. I'll try to cover everything that I did, and any help would be appreciated. I built yesterday and everything seemed to go fine, I installed Vista and once that was done I installed the drivers for my graphics card from the cd that came with it, and my wifi card drivers from the cd. Once I started running windows update I got a BSOD. Several attempts later I was still getting blue screens.

I started again today.. I reseated everything onto my MOBO (ram, graphics card, and wifi card) and I checked all my connections. I thought there may have been a problem with my Vista install, so today I reinstalled. Everything with the install went okay, after it was done I installed my wifi drivers and graphics driver (I got the drivers online this time). I also checked my temperatures and everything seemed fine, around 35C. As soon as I started running the windows update I got a blue screen again. Does anyone have any advice on what I can try next?

I'm running memtest86 now.. just to make sure I'm doing it right, I should leave 1 stick in my first slot and run the test for a few passes.. then if there are no errors install another stick and do it again?

Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium SP1 64-bit for System Builders
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD4P Core i7/ Intel X58/ DDR3/ CorssFireX & 3-Way SLI/ A&GbE/ ATX Motherboard
i7 Processor i7-920 2.66GHz 8MB LGA1366 CPU
OCZ Gold 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
GIGABYTE GV-N275UD-896H GeForce GTX 275
CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX TX 750W Power Supply
Scythe MUGEN-2 SCMG-2000 120mm Sleeve CPU Cooler

number13

Distinguished
May 20, 2008
wipe the drive and reinstall the OS, then turn off the updates and see if things go oK for a few days, then turn the updates on and see if it crashes again

ecurb

Distinguished
Jul 22, 2009