azconnie

Distinguished
Sep 26, 2009
I'm still in the general reaserch phase (probably will actually get the thing Christmas) but I need some street expert help.

My motherboard is on the Nvidia hierarchy the top of the "performance" class (tier 2) and my GPU is at the bottom of the "gamer" class (tier 1) (Nvidia 750i, and GTX 260 core 216 respectivly).

On the toms guide GPU hierarchy chart my GPU is tier 4.
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/best-graphics-card,2362-6.html

I can't fin a chipset hierarchy on Toms (or anywhere else), nor one on the Intel site for their cores.

Again referencing Toms I found that Core 2 Quad Q6700, Q9300, Q8400, Q6600 & Q8300 are all tier 3 CPUs.
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/best-gaming-cpu,2437-6.html

I know a quad isn't "nessisary," but I want one. You still might talk me into a dual.

I know core 2 extreme is a fancy word for "Pay more for the same" so that rules out QXxxxx and Qxxxs

On to the actual question, I am a relative OC noob. I understand it from a mechanical perspective, but I lack the finesse (think virgin reading Kama Sutra). My RAM is PC-6400, and I wan't to hit 1600 FSB and 3GHz+ core (FSB is for 1:1 ram, core speed is so my single thread stuff won't crawl) and all with relative ease. The Q8400 and Q9400 have the same clock, but 4/6 L2 respectivly. Dose L2 really matter anymore? I have heard it both ways, technical answers are preferred. I have 2G of RAM in dual channel (will be adding an additional 512 pair later to fill the banks, and max the 32 bit RAM support). I want to stay under $150, yet above the Q8200 (Toms tier 4+). Also, I have heard some bad rumors about Q8xxx performance (mostly L2 related) and wan't to see if I can dispell some.