icravespam

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2009
Hello, I'm new to Tom's Hardware but have noticed that despite the way that homebuilt standards climb at breakneck speeds, the users here seem to be true experts. So I was wondering if any of you would like to look over a configuration I've been looking at.

First, what my needs are as far as computing: I'm moving away to college this fall, and I've waited the maximum possible time before buying (knowing the nature of this market). I own a web design firm and hope continue receiving contracts during school. I will be using CPU intensive Adobe CS4 suite programs and some gaming. So I need the maximum CPU and RAM power. I need this rig to be expandable, so I think an x58 board with an i7 proc will be best. Also, I'd really like a quiet computer, but I'd rather have a power-monster if the budget cannot permit both desires. I have $1500 to work with, but $377 is already allocated to a netbook I need for toting around campus and note-taking, etc.

Here is my plan:

Netbook: ASUS EeePC 1005HA-PU1X-BK (with 2gig RAM upgrade)= $377 -Link

Then a combination of a TigerDirect order and a Newegg order (in order to maintain free shipping):

TigerDirect Order

Combo (CPU, Mobo, RAM): Intel DX58SO Motherboard & Intel Core i7 920 Processor BX80601920 & Corsair XMS3 Tri Channel 6GB PC10666 DDR3 Memory Bundle = $600 (with rebate)
Link

Hard Drive: Hitachi 7K1000.B Hard Drive - 1TB, 7200RPM, 16MB, SATA-300, OEM = $80
Link

PSU: Ultra LSP750 750-Watt Power Supply - ATX, SATA-Ready, SLI-Ready, 135mm Fan = $80
Link

GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 260 Core 216 Superclocked Video Card - 896MB GDDR3 = $160 (with rebate)
Link

Optical: Samsung SH-S223F = $30
Link

Cooling Stuff: CPU Fan: Masscool 8W503F1M4 CPU Fan + OCZ OCZTFRZTC Freeze Thermal = $36
Link (CPU Fan) and Link (Thermal Compound)

+ some keyboard I found, my current one blows, though my mouse and speakers are still usable. = $15

NewEgg Order

Case: HEC 6C28BB8S Black Steel ATX Mid = $37
Link