Sign in with
Your question

[Very First Build] help is appreciated

Last response: in Systems
August 2, 2009 5:02:04 AM

OK so first, im kinda new to all this building but after dealing with ignorant Customer service im deciding to forgo them :p 

Ok to the important Stuff...

I've ALREADY purchased the following items, but i'd like to know if these are all good for an everyday machine with gaming/movie/music capabilities

Purchased

1.) Antec 900 two gaming case

2.) Samsung DVD Burner

3.) Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 SATA 3.0Gb/s 1000GB (1TB) 32MB Cache for Data

4.) Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB SATAII 7200RPM 32MB Cache for OS

5.) Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X4096-8500C5 Matched Pairs 4GB Kit

6.) Asus P5Q PRO Turbo Socket Mobo

7.) Corsair HX Series CMPSU-850HX 850W ATX EPS12V Power Supply

Planning on purchasing next

8.) Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 Quad-Core

9.) Asus ENGTS250 DK

Now those are the components ( and i have to admit, i got giddy and already got everything installed, just waiting for final things)
but I want your opinons, something i maybe should look at in future?
known issues?
Etc

Also to let you know Im planning on running vista home premium for now, and planning on using the upgrade offer to get Windows 7 for free.

Though im looking at a linux partition down the road, anything i sould look out for?

PS.... on the mother board there is an 8 power connecter near a corner, but 4 of the wholes are filled in.... do i plug in a full 8 pins from power supply or just plug four?

ALL HELP IS APPRECIATED

More about : build appreciated

August 2, 2009 5:07:16 AM

What resolution are you going to be running at? If you are going to be at 1680x1050 or 1920x1080 then you are going to want something stronger than a GTS250 if you can afford it.

The 'filled in' holes should have a flip up cap over them so that you can plug in an 8 pin connector, it only requires a 4 pin but is willing to accept an 8pin to accommodate a variety of PSU's.
August 2, 2009 5:11:07 AM