Help building new computer + Upgrading old one

orionflux

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2009
APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Sometime this year (likely in October when Windows 7 comes out)

BUDGET RANGE: Up to $4,000.00 for BOTH, but would like to be cost efficient and not waste money on garbage I don't need.

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: CAD software, 3D animation, graphics, photoshop, mega multitasking, gaming, watching videos online (ie: netflix).. I'm an artsie fartsie gamer. lol

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Keyboard, Mouse. I have a Samsung SyncMaster 226BW monitor & an Antec P160W case. Feel free to upgrade those if need be. (I was looking at the LIAN LI PC-A7010B Aluminum ATX Full Tower Computer Case)

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: newegg.com, ncix.com, tigerdirect.com, frys.com - anywhere within the US.

PARTS PREFERENCES: I am not too biased in regards to brands, as long as it's a quality product, I am happy. I usually seem to pick Samsung or LG products, though. lol

OVERCLOCKING: Nope. I'm not that confident in my computer knowledge to be messing with that stuff. I would if I could, but for now, I can't, so nope!

CROSSFIRE/SLI: Maybe. Not sure which is better at the moment, though. It's been a while since I've looked at new cards, but won't take me long to come up to speed! Am thinking of getting a GTX 295. Opinions more than welcome!

MONITOR RESOLUTION: Current resolution is 1680x1050

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I would like a more quiet PC. My current one can be heard while talking with people over the phone! (I mean THEY can hear it!) I definitely need some stuff for cooling, would like to include a sound card and surround sound speakers with subwoofer (doesn't have to be THE BEST, but pretty darn good) Definitely need new video card(s). I will also need to purchase an operating system, but was going to wait for Windows 7.