madchemist83

Distinguished
Hello

I'm looking for a best cooler for i5-2500k CPU.
Three requirements:
1. It have to be not taller then 150mm
2. It have to be pretty quiet
3. It have to cost no more then $40

Thank you

alan1476

Distinguished
Feb 26, 2011
I have been a systems builder for 20 years. It is apparent to me that the old air cooling devices are almost obsolete now for the enthusiast. If you are talking about someone who just uses the Internet, doesn't OC or use intensive programs, or game at all, maybe those old fashioned air coolers will do , but now that you have enclosed water cooling, that anyone with half a brain can install, your Xigmatech SD963 is just not sufficient. Laugh all you want but if you are an enthusiast and want a cooler that will cover all the bases you are not right. Have a nice day. And you are right , I guess there are only a few experts on this part of the forum and anyone who gives advice against an enclosed loop is just not right.

madchemist83

Distinguished
I said 40$ do u comprehend it?
If u can't give me suggestion at all why even waste my time and post ?
Liquid coolers are loud and have a probability of leaking.
Idk what world u been too but air cooling is pretty sufficient ... real enthusiast go with liquid nitrogen btw ...
sorry u wasted 20 years of ur life

radioactvman

Distinguished
Jan 1, 2011
The Arctic Cooling 13 and 7 series would meet your height requirement and are $35-$45 on newegg.

I have the Freezer 7 (92mm) w/ PWM and it is decent at full fan speed. It isn't the greatest overclocking cooler but it gets the job done. It also comes with Arctic MX-4 TIM.

radioactvman

Distinguished
Jan 1, 2011
On the Arctic cooling website, they claim that the Freezer 13 produces 0.5 sones @2000rpm and the Freezer 7 produces 0.5 sones @2250rpm.

I am not to familiar with a sone unit of measurement but apparently the internets is telling me that 1 sone is 40 dB so the fans seem to be very quiet.