Can my computer "handle" GTX 260?

ryan54

Distinguished
Aug 23, 2009
I am a little new to computers. I've never changed a graphics card before, and now I was thinking of replacing my Nvidia 9400 GT with a Nvidia GTX 260.
I'm still wondering if the graphics card can fit into my computer case. I've tried meassuring it, and my computer case is 40 cm wide, while the GTX260 is 27 cm, if I recall correctly. There isn't much cables or wires in the way, so I'm pretty sure it fits.

I'm still not quite sure as to how exactly to change a graphics card, as I've never done it before. I've read somewhere that all you have to do is pull it out, and put the new one in, but the GTX 260 has all these cables, and I'm not sure where to fit all of those in.

Im pretty sure my PSU is 500w . Is there anything else I should look for?

Specifications:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000
3.2 GB of Ram
NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT

If theres any more info you need, tell me

Thanks in advance!

erikjansson

Distinguished
May 20, 2009
Hello!, No your PC can DEFINATELY "handle the GTX 260, the only thing that might be of a problem might be the space between other hardwares. There should ALWAYS be at least 10cm of a distance between hardwares to evade overheating.
And another thing but I dont think its much of a problem, judging by your computers specifications, how much RAM do you have? If you have 1GB or more you are OK.

And congrats about the graphics card, wish I had that much money to buy one =D.

Hope this helped, Erik Jansson

A bit difficult on my SLi rig as PCI-e slots 1 & 3 (both in use) are only 7cm apart and there are two unused slots between them!

dacca

Distinguished
Jul 25, 2009
check the voltage on your 12v rails dude, voltages will be listed along side of the psu will be able to help more then

ryan54

Distinguished
Aug 23, 2009
12v rails? Whats that? Sorry I'm new to computers