Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Over clocking my cpu

Last response: in Overclocking
September 20, 2011 2:19:36 AM

i want to take my AMD phenom II x6 1100T to 4.0 instead of the stock 3.30 my specs are as follows

motherboard-GIGABYTE 890gpa-ud3h
ram-patriot G-series 1600 (2 2 gig sticks)
GFX-ATI hd 5770 XFX edition
CPU-phenom II x6 1100t

im new to over clocking (except for gfx cards that is)and i would like some recommended numbers and perhaps a step by step on how to reach my goal

thanks for any help provided in advance

More about : clocking cpu

a b À AMD
a c 139 à CPUs
a c 242 K Overclocking
September 20, 2011 2:26:33 AM

first .. what is your PSU .. ? second read guide :
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/258573-29-black-editi...

first step : change voltage to smallest + 0.05v, raise multiplier : this is done to get the maximum clock speed of the CPU with the lowest voltage
m
l
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
September 20, 2011 11:13:13 AM

i wouldn't touch the voltage until you hit a multiplier that wont stabalize (wont boot windows or shuts down running Prime95). Voltage is the single most destructive thing you can increase for your cpu chip. A high temp will shut it down, but too much voltage could instantly fry your cpu. The guide henydiah posted is a great guide, but i would also encourage reading many other forums, including the AMD Overclocking Club's thread. You will be able to see many different calibrations, as well as being able to talk with people who have OC'd their system successfully. Also remember to make sure people have experience with YOUR SPECIFIC CHIP! This does make a difference. Intel and AMD especially OC differently, but even inside of AMD there are differences in chipsets (e.g. Rana chips compared to Phenom II's).
m
l
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !

Best solution

a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
September 21, 2011 7:46:39 PM

See the Phenom II OC'ing tutorial at the link below.