OC'ng Noob... Need help!!!

cafsta

Distinguished
Sep 20, 2011
Hi guys

I'm new to these things and have a very limited knowledge concerning computers. I've been reading a few things but can't seem to get the jist of what is been said/explained.
I have no funds to purchase bigger and better pc parts so I was thinking of overclocking my system but now I need assistance.
My system is as follows:

Mobo: KA780GM2(MS-7549)
CPU: AMD Athlon II x2 245 (2.9GHz)
Ram: 4gig DDR2 800MHz
GPU: EVGA GTX460 1gig Superclocked Edition
PSU: Antec TP750 New
Dunno what other info you might need.

I've checked in the BIOS and the multiplier is at x14 and can't be set any higher. This puts the cpu at 2.9ghz. I can only set it lower :( Does this mean that I can't OC as the motherboard won't allow me to?

I would like to get better performance out of my system up until I can afford to purchase myself a better pc.

Your guys help is much appreciated :bounce:

Solution
In the Cell Menu you need to change the FSB/DRAM Ratio by dropping it one speed. With your chip you should blow past 230MHz, even with the stock cooler.

Remember that everything runs off the system clock. It looks like you have dropped the IMC/NB and HT multipliers to 9x. I would suggest dropping the HT to 8x and raising the IMC/NB to stock 10x. You should lock the PCIe speed to 100MHz, disable Spread Spectrum, and enable Bank Interweaving.

Your 'sweet spot' with the system clock speed is dependent upon the speed of the DDR3 that you selected. If you are running DDR3 1600 it is 240MHz. For DDR3 1333 it is 250MHz. Here's why:

DDR3 1600 at stock is 8 (FSB/DRAM Ratio) X 200MHz (system clock or FSB). If you raise the system clock...
Hi and welcome to Tom's forum.

1- You only can change the multiplier when the CPU is unlocked ("BE" for AMD "k" series for Intel) but your CPU is locked multiplier, that means that we need use the FSB (reference clock) for overclock the CPU.
2- What cooler do you have?

cafsta

Distinguished