I just ditched Nero 7 Essentials

molokaicreeper

Distinguished
Jul 18, 2010
As a newcomer to the Windows environment there are things that I'm still learning about my new operating system. Before, when people would talk about burning a DVD/CD one word always seemed to come forward: Nero.

I'm not quite sure why Nero is so popular but to be honest I never heard of that many other CD burner software for Windows (although there are tons) just not mentioned as often... (well now that I remember my husband's old HP had CD Now, and I heard that Roxio also makes burning software for PC) apart from that I was pretty much oblivious.

The times I used Nero in the past though, I always found myself not too happy about the quality of the burn. It seemed to me that my old 1.33Ghz iBook G4 could do so much better with Roxio Toast Titanium. I wasn't wrong, for when I received my Acer Aspire AS5736Z-4801 laptop, first thing I did was retrieve the Nero 7 Essentials CD that came with the CD/DVD burner I bought for my son's eMac a few months ago. A few CD burns worked well, but DVDs not too well (specially with motion picture movies). But I just brushed off the ocassional pixelation, or stuttering. It didn't last too long anyway.

Not knowing anything about how specific DVD speeds can affect a way a disc is burned; I just happily went to Amazon and grabbed myself a 100 DVD-R 16x pack. Wow that was the straw, 8 out of 10 DVDs didn't come out too well, and two of them halted completely somewhere in the middle (upon playing on my home DVD player)! I found that my writter can write at maximum 8x (like I said this was new to me) and the DVDs seem to be optimized for 16x burning. I tried to find ways to fiddle around with Nero, ran a bunch of simulations, Nero DID NOT give errors, didn't complaint, didn't advice... In fact all simulations ended satisfatory but the next DVD I burned was just as bad.