DC_legacy

Distinguished
Jan 27, 2008
Hi everyone,

Sorry for the long post but i am desperate for some advice.

I have had a very bad experience this past week in regards to upgrading my machine. I brought a q9550 for my asus p5k-se mobo. I got worried about flashing the bios after reading so many horror stories on the internet and opted to take it into the store.

I got a call today after 5 days (i am a graphic designer and 5 days it a lifetime when clients are wanting work done) saying that apparently my 9800gx2 was “broken” and did i want him to order me a new gfx card. I went in to see him and he showed me how the computer would only start up (with the 9800gx2 installed) after restarting several times and being left alone for a long period of time.

He then put in another gfx card he owned and it started up fine (it was some old ati card with no external power supply and a super small fan). It seemed to me that it must be something to do with the bios flash as the card would sometimes post into windows but his words were “the bios update only makes things better not worse”

With my setup i was running 3 monitors so he took me to the display cabinet to show me gfx card alternatives that i could buy. Not one of them had x2 dvi ports and an hdmi as my 9800gx2 had. They all had either a vga port instead or no hdmi. I cannot justify buying a card that has worse output ports than my original card.

I had to buy a cheep 8400 card just so that i can do some work but would love to have my monitor setup back in working order with my gx2.

Has anyone had a similar problem or have any advice so that i can get my card up and running again?

Thank you in advance.

What CPU did you upgrade from and what is your PSU, it sounds like its possable the new Quad has taken the PSU to its max and so it cant power the GPU at start up.(start up takes more juice than when its running) This would explain why a non powered card would work instead.