Scared of Water Cooling...

bikeracer4487

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2009
So, I've been building my own systems since high school, and since I graduated college and began work as a software developer I've been able to invest considerably more into my system (as you might see in my sig), and all the parts have been installed by me. Problem is, although I have some serious heat-generating components, I've always been intimidated by water cooling.

Ideally, I'd just bring my case (Cooler Master Storm Sniper) somewhere and have them do it for me...but I don't think anyone does that, I'm certainly not going to buy a pre-built system and sell all my old components just for the cooling, and I've tried all-in-one solutions like the H70 but I always end up going back to my CNPS 9900 Max, because the performance just isn't up to snuff.

So what I'd like from Tom's users are tips on what sort of parts I need and where to get them. And I know Tom's wrote a DIY liquid cooling article, but it's like 3 years old now, so it's not super helpful. Also, if, on the off chance, people have other suggestions like a great water cooling service or something or an all-in-one that actually DOES cool as well as a custom water cooling setup, then please let me know. Also, I'm thinking I'd want to cool the CPU and both GTX 580s, but if someone think this is a terrible idea, let me know. Thanks in advance for your help!

Solution
Do you have a link to the article you mentioned above? I'd like to read it...I'd probably actually remember reading it if I saw it.

Have you read through the WC sticky in the forum? I put it together earlier this spring/summer and almost all the info is still very relevant. Most of the concepts really don't change much...just the actual hardware being used...and it is all based on the same concepts as previous versions.

So, considering what you are saying, here are a couple ideas to have in mind as you are reading/planning/purchasing your components: