NAS Build Questions & Critique

F4RR4R

Distinguished
Sep 4, 2009
Overview of my Home NAS 2011 Project
I’ve currently got no decent storage at home and I’m in need of a professional, mature storage solution. I’ve got a ton of data I need to store and keep safe. I want to build a solution that will last for years. I’m a network engineer and have rack in my basement this solution will go in. So, on to the project! I’ve got an older AMD board w/ a 4600+ cpu & 8GB of DDR2 installed that I’m trying to recycle into a NAS build. The hardware for the build is listed below.

EVGA 122-M2-NF59-TR AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813188016
I’ve already got this board, it’s in a system not being used. The CPU is a 4600+, 8GB of DDR2 G.Skill & a 750watt PSU.

NORCO RPC-3216 3U Rackmount Server Case - OEM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811219034
Planning on this NAS Server case. It’s got 16 hot-swappable sata I/II HD chassis and 4 internal reverse 8087 mini-sas connectors.

LSI MegaRAID Internal Low-Power SATA/SAS 9240-8i 6Gb/s PCI-Express 2.0 RAID Controller
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816118127
Most importantly, this is a PCIe 2.0 card. Note that my board does not have any PCI 2.0 slots, but it has 2 PCIe1.0x16. It has 2 8087 connectors, which provide connectivity for 8 sata II drives. I’m planning to buy one of these cards to start, and a second sometime in the future if I ever need more than 13TB of storage.

SAMSUNG Spinpoint F4 HD204UI 2TB 5400 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822152245
These seem to be a good buy.

Here are my questions & concerns:

1. PCI2.0 card in a 1.0 slot