I truly apologize for the newbieness but

jdbaker82

Distinguished
Jul 30, 2009
How exactly do you align the stand-off holes of the MB with the MB tray as the instructions on my HAF 932 are telling me to do.... I bought a Crosshair III board and am trying to figure out exactly how it wants me to screw the MB into place but I only see 9 holes on the MB and they are for the #6-32 screws I am assuming and not the stand-off ones. I would just take the MB out of the little box that it's in and mess around with it but I want to make sure I am doing this right before I touch the MB as I don't want to break anything.

Again sorry this is my first time building a machine :(

You have to work out where to put the stand offs in the case .

You dont have to have stand offs corresponding to every mounting hole in the mb

If you carefully handle the mb by its edges and hold it above the mb tray. It should be obvious where the stand offs need to be inserted to hold the board in place , and stop it flexing .

While you are working on the mb put it back down on the plastic bag it came in , with the foam from the box under that.

Insert the processor [ checking alignment carefully] and using NO force. Then insert the ram without touching the contacts or ram chips . Some pressure is required to snap the clips to the closed position . Make sure the notch in the bottom alligns with the notch in the slot .

Then install the heat sink fan for the cpu and plug its power lead in to the mb

Then mount the mb in the case , which already has the power supply in place

The standoffs are usually brass and have a spot for a screw to screw into them on the top. You put 9 standoffs in the case directly under each hole in the motherboard. You then install the motherboard and put screws through the holes in the motherboard and into the standoffs.

I hope this helps. I'm not sure exactly what you're asking.

jdbaker82

Distinguished
Jul 30, 2009