Sign in with
Your question

Building for business use (multitasking)

Last response: in Systems
August 5, 2009 3:15:43 AM

I had posted this on the "CPU & Components" Thread. I think this is the right place for it.

I am a business owner for a printing and design company looking for advice on building a PC.

The computer I wish to build (or maybe buy) will be used primarly for business and secondarlily for personal use. I will be using programs such as Microsoft Office suites, Adobe Suites (Illustrator etc), Photoshop, Accounting Software (quickbooks), internet, chat windows. Also, I would want it to be ready for Windows 7 and other new software about to come.

Although not an experienced graphics designer at the moment, I am continuosly learning so I want to make sure the computer is ready (or upgradeable) for heavy graphics design. For now, light graphics design.
PC, will also be used for my personal use but never or (on the very rare occassion) for gaming.

With feedback already provided, I have decided on the following below. I need your help in letting me know if this build will work. Are the components compatible, etc..

(NOTE: All Prices are in Canadian Dollars from Newegg.ca)

Antec Three Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - $69.99

Western Digital VelociRaptor WD1500HLFS 150GB 10000 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive - $209.99

Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive - $79.99

SAPPHIRE 100256HDMI Radeon HD 4670 1GB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card - $78.99

CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC $109.99

OCZ Gold 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Quad kit Desktop Memory Model $104.49

GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail $149.99

Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor Model BX80570E8500 - Retail $219.99