GTX 300s, PhysX, 3D 120Hz, etc. questions (for the future)

terminus

Distinguished
Apr 9, 2009
Some time way in the future I see myself buying a GTX 300s so I just have a few questions regarding some Nvidia features.

-ATM I have EVGA GTX 275 personally OC, instead of using it as a paper weight can I use it as a dedicated PhysX card?

-Why are there no 3D 120Hz 1920x1080 monitors? is it because dual DVI can not support that much or is it because video cards presently can not support that much? can HDMI support it?

-If I get two GPUs (GTX 300s and GTX 275) can they be separately OC?

-I know on "normal" ATX Mobos dual GPUs tend to get hot since they are side by side sandwiching eachother, but I have a 90 degrees ATX (Silverstone Raven series), does that eliminate this problem?

-thanks!

1: You can use the 275GTX as a PhysX card, but the GT300 is roumerd to be so insanly powerful, I doubt there will be any significant benifit

2: I've seen a 22" 120Hz moniter...the problem is that such high refresh rates require insanly low Repsonse Times from individual pixels across the entire color spectrum, and most moniters are still "worse then 5ms average in that category...

5ms = .005 sec
120Hz * .005 = .6

What the above means is that a moniter at 120Hz listed with a 5ms best case Response Time will, in the best possible case, experiance no ghosting (the pixels respond 60% quicker then the time it takes to ready the next image). The problem is that in most cases, the highest possible response time will be doube what is listed, so the worst case would be:

10ms = .010 sec
120Hz * .010 sec = 1.2

In the worse possible case, it taxes 120% LONGER for pixles to change compared to the time it takes to ready the next image, so there will be occurences of ghosting. And since getting such low Response Times is expensive, it makes much more economic sense to keep LCD's running at lower refresh rates rather then lowering pixel Response Time.