Sign in with
Your question

Lightroom Rig

Last response: in CPUs
November 1, 2009 8:33:42 PM

Friends,

I'm planning on buying a Dell XPS 9000 to use as a Lightroom (and some Photoshop) workhorse. I am a wedding photographer so I go through tons of pictures and every second counts. With money as no object, what would be the best choices for my system to be as speedy as possible without being wasteful. I don't really play games.

Also note I'm running a 30in and 24in monitor.

I was looking at a i7-975 with 12 gb ram and a hd5850. I also plan on putting a Intel SSD for the boot. This all being said, I really don't know too much about the benefits of these things (ie i7950 vs i7975).

Thanks for your help!
Eric

More about : lightroom rig

November 1, 2009 8:55:08 PM

"what would be the best choices for my system to be as speedy as possible without being wasteful"
please define the term wasteful: if you mean excessive horsepower, then you are definatly being wasteful ;) . it appears that the top of the line stuff has caught your eye. if you honestly have NO money restrictions, then by all means get it and enjoy.
a b à CPUs
November 1, 2009 9:00:32 PM

Would be cheaper to build your own with a i7 920 and overclock. If money is no object and you are not tech savy, then by all means get the dell.
Related resources
November 1, 2009 9:13:00 PM

Thanks for the responses!

I guess the question is is the extra ram necessary? is the 5850 necessary? is the i7975 necessary? ssd boot drive? I'm all for getting it if it helps, but if perhaps there is no benefit of the graphics card over a lesser one, then I don't need to waste any money either.

I also have been poking around at the workstation side of dell. They all seem to have xeon processors, yet they cost more for similar specs.

Thanks again! I can use all the advice I can get,
Eric
November 1, 2009 9:40:40 PM

so then, are you planning on building your own or buying one?