Sign in with
Your question

Noob with questions about DX10 and DX11

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
August 26, 2009 6:45:29 PM

I'm a complete novice to computer gaming. I want to build a system, but have a few questions. If I build a rig using 1-2 DX10 video cards, will I be able to play future games that are compatible with DX11? Or should I wait and build a system when the DX11 cards come out? I'm not too worried about having the best visuals and frame rates, I just want to know if I'll be able to play the games. Thanks. Please keep in mind I'm a complete novice so be nice. ;-)
a c 355 U Graphics card
August 26, 2009 6:53:03 PM

DX 11 card will be officially announced on Sept 10th by ATI I believe. However, they may not be on sale until around Oct 22nd when Win7 is officially launched.

It will take a while for DX 10 to be phased out, my guess is probably 2011 - 2012. There are still games that supports DX 9. I think Oblivion was the first game to officially drop DX 8 support.
a b U Graphics card
August 26, 2009 7:40:39 PM

DX9 will be around for the next few years, simply because XP will be around for the next few years.

DX10 will remain around the next few years simply because everyone has a DX10 card these days.

You won't have to worry about any games only supporting DX11 for quite some time. You might lose some eye-candy, but thats about it.
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
a c 130 U Graphics card
August 26, 2009 7:44:33 PM

td25er said:
I'm a complete novice to computer gaming. I want to build a system, but have a few questions. If I build a rig using 1-2 DX10 video cards, will I be able to play future games that are compatible with DX11? Or should I wait and build a system when the DX11 cards come out? I'm not too worried about having the best visuals and frame rates, I just want to know if I'll be able to play the games. Thanks. Please keep in mind I'm a complete novice so be nice. ;-)