Sign in with
Your question
Solved

MSI 560GTX-TI Twin Frozer II OC done?

Last response: in Overclocking
September 25, 2011 7:00:59 PM

I got a MSI 560GTX-TI Twin Frozr II OC Ed. mid August. Up until yesterday I have not tried overclocking until I started playing Shogun 2: Total War a few days ago. Noticing that I needed some more power, it seemed a good time as any to see what my card could really do.

First off, since it was my first attempt at overclocking, I did a background check to research a bit on what to do, what not to do, what to look for (ex: artifacts when benchmarking, blue screen, shutdown) and what to keep an eye on (ex: temp). Looked at several examples from both private users and review websites to get an idea of what the card could do. I used MSI Afterburner for controlling the settings and MSI Kombustor for benchmarking. For the most part, I settled around the settings that I found here:

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/graphics/2011/01/27/ms...

Besides those settings, I bumped up the voltage to 1075 mV.

From the default factory settings to bumping it up to the bi-tech settings, I kept an excel log to keep track of the scores and fps that I was getting as result.

Once everything was finalized, I tried playing Shogun 2 and noticed a great increase in overall performance. I thought that should have been the end of it.

However, after trying to play the game again today I noticed the lag and slow speed that I was getting before I had oc'd the card. Going back and rerunning MSI Kombustor, I noticed a huge drop in score and fps (Ref: 5950 to 3650 and 142 fps to 62 fps). I ran Kombustor a few times to double check and I reinstalled the graphics drivers but no change. Also, during benchmarking, highest temperature reached was 59 deg C.

Where did I mess up?

Thanks

Specs:
Processor: CPU INTEL CORE I7 2600 3.4G
Motherboard: MSI P67A-GD65 (B3) P67 LGA1155
Graphics: MSI 560GTX-TI Twin Frozr II OC
Power: PSU OCZ OCZ700MXSP 700W RT