Sign in with
Your question

My xfx x58i doesnt boot!

Last response: in Motherboards
January 29, 2010 1:09:36 AM

Hello
my mobo doesnt boot.stuck at code 88 on the debug screen.it doesnt give any sound when there are no ram in the slots or any kind of error. Tried all kind of hardware mixing and tuning.but nothing helps.please, i need help.

More about : xfx x58i doesnt boot

a b V Motherboard
January 29, 2010 2:49:01 AM

Have you gone through the full Boot Problems sticky in the Homebuilt section?
m
l
January 29, 2010 8:01:55 AM

i think so. When i power the pc ,all the light turn on inside pc,cpu cooler runs,graphic card's fan runs ,all the other fans run.Just only the motherboard shows the code 88. Cant hear any kind of motherboad sound.I have been using this board for last ten months. All the time when it had booted,I have seen many other codes coming after the code 88. Its a kind of boot test. But i dont know why its failing at the starting.

My configuaration= 4 2gb rams, 1000w psu, core i7 920, hd 4870 x2,500 gb samsung hard drive.

I reset the bios many times. What to do ?
m
l
Related resources
a b V Motherboard
January 29, 2010 10:58:09 AM

Well, I guess start by removing all extraneous components and all but one stick of ram and see if it posts then.
m
l
January 29, 2010 12:56:18 PM

did. But no result.I think the mobo is the problem,especially the bios .
m
l
a b V Motherboard
January 29, 2010 6:56:35 PM

Well, if you don't have any other components that you know work to try, I'd say start the RMA on the motherboard and see if that helps/
m
l
January 29, 2010 7:45:20 PM

Or you may have a BAD CPU. The Memory Controller on the CPU could be faulty.
m
l
a b V Motherboard
January 29, 2010 8:08:00 PM

Try contacting XFX and specifically ask them if they know what Code 88 refers to.
m
l
a b V Motherboard
January 29, 2010 10:24:24 PM