Sign in with
Your question

Need to cool Toshiba P305-S8822:ThermoPad or ThermoPaste?

Tags:
  • Graphics Cards
  • Laptops
  • Toshiba
  • Overclocking
Last response: in Overclocking
September 26, 2011 8:06:46 AM

Hi All,

I need to cool my GPU down, because its overheating. When I opened the laptop, I noticed there were factory installed thermopads. Example is shown below.

Should I use the current ThermoPads or buy some Paste/compound like Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound, or Noctua NT-H1 to help cool my laptop?

Thanks.

Indy

More about : cool toshiba p305 s8822 thermopad thermopaste

September 29, 2011 10:11:24 PM

Its all the same. They use pads in laptops but as a Dell tech I am also issued paste too. Those pads are the lowest quality of paste you can find though. I use Arctic Silver on my builds.
m
l
September 30, 2011 1:07:42 PM

slcmike said:
Its all the same. They use pads in laptops but as a Dell tech I am also issued paste too. Those pads are the lowest quality of paste you can find though. I use Arctic Silver on my builds.

Thanks for the reply!

If I use Arctic Silver or Noctua NT-H1, will they be able to make contact to the heat sink, since you have to put on a very thin layer of this type of paste?

Also, if I use Arctic Silver or Noctua NT-H1, can I still use these old pads to make sure I make contact to the heat sink, or is there something else I can use to make sure I make contact to the heat sink when using Arctic Silver or Noctua NT-H1?

Matt

m
l
September 30, 2011 2:21:41 PM

Clean both surfaces (cpu and heatsink) with an alcohol pad or isopropyl alcohol on a coffee filter (no lint), even if they have never had any paste on them! The paste WILL stick no matter how thin the layer. Use the dog poop method..."coil" and smudge of paste (2-3 small coils) in the middle of the cpu and it will even itself out when you install the heatsink. Dont use those pads just use your paste and coil it, it will spread correctly.
m
l