3500$ Rendering/Gaming Rig.

torqueguru

Distinguished
Aug 6, 2009
Hi folks,

I am a photographer/ Visual effects Artist/Programmer/ Designer. And I am looking to put together a workstation/Gaming Rig. I am looking at fast render times, smooth particle simulation work flow, HD Video editing and compositing and high resolution image editing. Also, I do not want to compromise on HD gaming as well.

I have put together a First build for this purpose as slated below. Now, my main concern here is, will the GTX 295 + Tesla C1060 co-exist?

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE:
in one month’s time

BUDGET : $3500

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT :
Intense 3D computing, Visual effects involving particle simulation, fluid Dynamics and Compositing, A lot of Photoshop work, software used includes 3Dx-Max, May, Houdini and Nuke. Also I want to use the system for serious gaming.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS : Any website with decent review and good deals.

PARTS PREFERENCES:
Tower Cases Without Power Supply:

COOLER MASTER, Cosmos 1000 (RC-1000-KSN1-GP) - $169
Link

Power Supply:
SILVERSTONE, Strider ST1200 Modular Power Supply, 1200W - $270
Link

Motherboard:
Asus P6T Deluxe - $290
Link

Processor:
INTEL, Core™ i7-920 Quad-Core 2.66GHz - $280
Link

CPU Cooler:
Not Decided ( I really need help here since I do plan to overclock the cpu)

Memory:
KINGSTON, 12GB (6 x 2GB) ValueRAM PC3-8500 DDR3 1066MHz - $235
Link

PCI Express x16 Video Card:
PNY NVIDIA GTX 295 - $478
Link

HPC Processor Unit:
NVIDIA, Tesla™ C1060 Computing Processor - S1246
Link

Hard Drive:
Not decided.( Looking for a good 1Tb deal, with emphasis on speed)

Drives:
Thinking Bluray ROM, Need suggestions

OVERCLOCKING : Yes

SLI OR CROSSFIRE : No

MONITOR : I already own a Hansspree 28 inch Monitor with 3ms response time, pretty happy with it.

Looking forward to the suggestions and invaluable input from you guys.

Thanks in advance.
Mukul.

kufan64

Distinguished
May 12, 2009