Sign in with
Your question

Connect case fans to mobo or/and PSU? Help please

Last response: in Systems
August 7, 2009 5:57:13 AM

I have a HAF 922 case, with ASUS P6T mobo. The case have 3 fans, one front 200mm, one top 200mm, and one rear 120mm. But the mobo only have 2 chassis fan connectors, which has Q-fan regulation.

So I am wondering how should I connect the 3 case fans?

1. connect them all to the PSU to rum max speed?
2. buy a fan connect splitter and connect them all to the mobo so they all have Q-fan regulation?
3. connect 2 to mobo and the last one to PSU? then which one should connect to PSU?

I am really confused, Please help me guys, this is my first time build, thanks a lot. :) 
August 7, 2009 12:26:00 PM

Ya, I preffer connecting them to the psu as well. One less thing that the MB has to do and one less electrical thing drawing power from it.
m
l
August 7, 2009 1:42:21 PM

Thanks for your replies.

Then you don't have the mobo regulate the case fan speeds any more.
So do you think that Q-fan function for case fans are just fluffs, not necessary?
m
l
Related resources
a b B Homebuilt system
August 7, 2009 4:14:38 PM

As a first step on making this decision, I'd be inclined to say that two of the case fans should be controlled by the mobo through its SYS_FANx ports, and the remaining fan powered by a Molex connector from the PSU, preferably with its own manually-set speed controller (2 or 3 speed levels). Then you monitor typical temps and fan speed on the mobo-controlled units and set a fixed speed on the third one to achieve a good balance point.

Obviously I am disagreeing with the last two posters. I do not think it necessary to run all the fans at full speed all the time, and I do not think it strains the mobo to use its fan control circuitry to do the job it was designed to do. Running fans at lower speed reduces the noise level.