phoenix777

Distinguished
Jun 30, 2009
not sure if this is the right forum, if not, I'm sorry.

anyway, I'm buying a custom made gaming desktop from ibuypower, I know it's cheaper to build it myself but I have no experience what-so-ever with such things :sweat: I looked around and found ibuypower to be the only good website to use for this, does anyone have a recommendation?
and um... here is my build, so far, please let me know your thoughts, thank you.

http://www.ibuypower.com/Store/Configurators.aspx?mid=375
Nzxt Guardian 921 Gaming Tower Case
Intel® Core™ i7 920 Processor (4x 2.66GHz/8MB L3 Cache)
XIGMATEK Dark Knight 120mm CPU Cooling Fan System H.D.T. (Heat-pipe direct touch) technology
6 GB [2 GB X3] DDR3-1600 Triple Memory Module (maybe DDR3-1333 or DDR3-1866?)
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 285 PCI-Express x16 – 1GB - SLi
Asus P6T Intel X58 Chipset CrossFire and SLI Supported w/7.1 Sound, Triple-Channel DDR3, Gb LAN, S-ATA Raid, USB 2.0, 3-Way SLI PCI-E MB
800 Watt -- Power Supply Quad SLI Ready

+ other small stuff, comes out to be around 2000.

Get a GTX275, the price premium for a GTX285 isnt worth the tiny difference in clock speeds. The timings on the ram are more important than their speed, does ibuypower list the timings? Any way you can choose the brand of the PSU? If you want to SLI down the line you need a good 750 watt PSU, rosewill and other random generics dont count as good. Also if they offer the core contact freezer it tends to be cheaper than the dark knight its also more effective.

phoenix777

Distinguished
Jun 30, 2009

Thank you for your reply.

All the 6GB RAM options are 9-9-9-24 except for one that's 8-8-8-24. Is the speed boost in the RAM worth $50 for each upgrade?

Here are all the options for the cooling, which one is the best for the money?

Certified CPU Fan and Heatsink [+ $0]

iBUYPOWER Napoleon CPU Cooling Fan System Kit [+ $29]

Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling Fan System Kit [+ $59]