Mushkin 996599/gigabyte ga-ep45-ud3p freezing

xdaznboi

Distinguished
Jan 30, 2010
I just upgraded my computer with a new gigabyte ga-ep45-ud3p and 2x2gb mushkin 996599 ram and a new corsair 750w power supply..
i get random freezing while i am using my computer...
i've played around with the voltage settings for the ram...

im running a q6600 core 2 quad kentsfield.
other than that, my bios is default.. no overclocking on anything else.

1.8 will freeze at the welcome screen for windows 7
182 up to 1.88 will run, and then i get random freezing..

1.9 freezes around the loading/welcome screen of windows 7
i've tried 2.0, and I got stuck at the welcome screen..

im just wondering if anyone has a similar build that can give help me set a stable bios... thanks guys.

i've used a burn-in software to test my computer.. and .. its a 32 bit, so i was only able to select 1gb of ram.. i set it on 5 tests, and it usually freezes midway 2-3...

im new with overclocking/voltage business.. so i need some major assistance.. thanks!

bilbat

Splendid
First thing - download a copy of MemTest86+:
http://www.memtest.org/download/4.00/memtest86+-4.00.iso.zip
and burn the iso to a CD to make a bootable RAM tester that will comprehensively test all of your RAM...

If you haven't yet done it, start with a BIOS' "Load Optimized Defaults"...

On the "MB Intelligent Tweaker(M.I.T.)" page:

"Robust Graphics Booster" to "Auto"
"PCI Express Frequency (Mhz)" to "100" (not auto...)
"C.I.A.2" to "Disabled"
******** DRAM Performance Control ********
"Performance Enhance" to "Standard"

Check that the RAM itself was set to 2.1V by the load optimized; if not, do so manually, by:
"System Voltage Control" to "Manual"
"DDR2 OverVoltage Control" to "+0.3"

<F10> to save & reboot...

Boot to MemTest disk, run at least a full pass...

If successful, try booting to OS...