Sign in with
Your question
Solved

CPU specifications

Last response: in CPUs
November 4, 2009 4:41:41 AM

I'm a newb in computers. Recently i want to build my own gaming pc. But first i want to learn the basics. All the meaning of the specification numbers for each component.

I came across the CPU category and i don't understand some things.

For example:
on the newegg website. I was looking at the "Intel Core i7-860"
It gave me numbers like.

2.8GHz
L3 Cache 8MB
1333Mhz

correct me if i'm wrong.
the 2.8GHz means it's estimated processing speed

I don't really understand the L3 Cache 8MB, i read somewhere that it means that it divides the memory load up to 3 ways for faster data sharing between cores...or something like that. And what does 8MB mean?? it can have maximum 8MB of data sharing in between cores?? Is this L3 or L2 cache important when purchasing a cpu?

1333Mhz .... the cpu info says it supports DDR3 sticks. But what would DDR2 sticks work?? or that depends on the mobo?

More about : cpu specifications

November 4, 2009 6:13:43 AM

Also, if you want build advice, post in the Homebuilt Forum using the How to Ask for Build Advice sticky.
m
l
Related resources

Best solution

November 4, 2009 4:16:03 PM

2.8 GHz is not an estimate. That's the processor's actual rated speed, BUT... that's just one component to look at when comparing processors. Here's a simple example... an Intel Pentium D 820 runs at 2.8 GHz and so does the Intel i7-860 you mentioned. Well, which is better? Even though they're both running at the same speed, the i7-860 is TREMENDOUSLY faster than the Pentium D... it's not remotely comparable. Why? The Pentium D is using Intel's Netburst architecture (look it up!) and the i7-860 is using an architecture (Nehalem) that is 2 generations newer. Also, the i7-860 has twice the number of cores. In simple terms... the newer chip is more efficient and has more brains (cores).