ASUS P6X58D Premium problems

Timmyshimmie

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2010
Hello all,

This is my first time posting on these forums as well as my first time with a major issue with a computer.

I recently built a custom gaming computer for myself with a ASUS P6X58D Premium Motherboard.
Mobo: ASUS P6X58D Premium
CPU: Intel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz
GPU: NVIDIA 250GTS 1gb
HD: 1x solid state 40gb hd 1x 1tb hd
Memory: x3 Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3

After I got everything up and running it ran fine for about a week. Yesterday(01/30/10) my computer shut off randomly. I thought it was a power out or something so I turned it back on to find that it wouldn't start. I then tested the PSU which worked fine. fans and LED lights came on. This lead me to believe that there was something wrong with my mother board. I did some more tests, by taking out one stick of ram at a time and trying to turn on the computer, but there was no luck there. I went through a couple more options and found that an 8pin connector at the top of the board was my problem. Everything would turn on like normal without the 8pin connected to to the PSU, but as soon as I plugged the 8pin connector from my PSU into the outlet, the computer would not start.
I have a feeling that this means I will have to replace the mother board, but was posting on here to see if anyone with the same board had a similar problem, and/or if anyone could offer any other form of advice.

Sorry if there is any missing info, new at this : /

tongquang28

Distinguished
Feb 7, 2010
You can isolate the problem eother motherboard or yuor PSU by check the output of the 8xpin +12 VDC (2x4 pin connectors) by using a volt meter to see if you have a +12 volt between Yellow and Black wires. If it does not show +12V instead shutdown the PSU then that is the PSU "Internal Hard Short" problem then replace the PSU.