Mixing wired and wireless problem

bokuden13

Feb 28, 2004
I hope someone can help me because I'm pretty new to wireless networks. Here's my situation: I'm sharing a 3Mb/s cable connection via a Microsoft MN-700 802.11g wireless router. The computer in the same room as the router connects to it with a normal ethernet cable, and my computer is upstairs connected via a Microsoft MN-710 802.11g USB network adapter. Both computers are running XP Pro. I know that sometimes the wireless connection will sometimes drop and then come back-that's not the problem.

Here's the problem: On the computer that connects to the router with the ethernet cable, sometimes the connection will inexplicably drop, and it will not come back unless the computer is restarted. The strange thing is that when this happens, my computer (connected wirelessly) suffers no such outage. I am still connected and I don't even see a drop off in speed. But this is really annoying for the person downstairs, who is physically connected to the router, because he has to restart his computer usually once or twice a day when this happens.

Are there any ideas about what could be causing this or how to fix it?

kwebb

Distinguished
Oct 6, 2001
If the card is slotted you can try moving it to another PCI slot. I'd also make sure you have the latest driver. Also run spybot or spyware removal tool equivelant. Could be the card itself. Try to get another NIC and see if you still have the problem. NIC's can be had for 10 bucks. You can always disable the existing NIC if its integrated or just remove. You can leave it in there as well. Shouldn't be a problem regardless. I'd check the cable as well though it's unlikely rebooting the PC would fix that. Change ports on the routers switch, though again that wouldn't normally be fixed with a PC reboot. Got to use process of elimination when you troubleshoot. Pinpoint what is causing problem. Makes fixing it much easier.