Sign in with
Your question

Odd hard drive failure / or not?

Last response: in Storage
May 24, 2011 10:38:02 AM

Recently my hard drive appeared to have failed. My computer would not recognise a bootable disk on power up. I tried the hard disk in my housemates computer and similarly did not recognise.

Figuring it was broken, I got a spare drive and placed it in the machine. The drive was recognised, but not bootable obviously. So I went and got my Windows disk, put it in and tried to boot from the DVD. Then I noticed the DVD drive wasn't being recognised either. Went into the BIOS, checked the boot order etc. and tried to force it to recognise the DVD drive. It did, but still wouldn't boot from it. I started playing with random settings and there was an option in the BIOS called AHCI/RAID mode, which by default was set to "None", I changed this to "AHCI" and rebooted. It then went through a different boot sequence from normal and recognised the DVD drive.

Was just wondering if this actually is likely a hard drive failure, or something to do with the mobo, or both?

Any ideas?

Thanks.

(p.s. I tried multiple sata ports and power cables for each drive).

More about : odd hard drive failure

May 24, 2011 6:28:00 PM

System specs would be nice. Have you looked to see if your SATA controller was enabled in BIOS? Try resetting CMOS settings to default, save and reboot. Check to see if your drives are listed.
May 24, 2011 6:41:40 PM

Your IDE controller on your motherboard may be failing. I just helped a lady with a similar issue... Rather than having me replace the motherboard I just told her it might be best that she just buy a new computer (hers was VERY OLD)
Related resources
May 24, 2011 8:55:37 PM

dark_lord69 said:
Your IDE controller on your motherboard may be failing. I just helped a lady with a similar issue... Rather than having me replace the motherboard I just told her it might be best that she just buy a new computer (hers was VERY OLD)