Sign in with
Your question

Please review/advise my general use rig

Last response: in Systems
August 10, 2009 8:15:53 AM

Hi, this is my first post here.
I'm building a new rig to replace my old Athlon 64 3000+ rig. The new rig is for my general use, I do some casual gaming, video editing, internet surfing, everyday home/office-used application, etc. I may do some minor overclocking though but nothing serious here. *I'm a newbie in overclocking*

Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400
- I get this over Q8400 because of the 6MB cache.
- Question 1: If I increase the FSB to say 400MHz but lower the multiplier to 7x, I get a slightly overclocked 7x400MHz=2800MHz and I plan to stay with stock CPU fan. Shall I do it or get a after market cooling solution which I'm a little tight on budget here?

Motherboard: MSI P45 Diamond
- This motherboard looks cool to me, plus I love its features. While the Xtreme X-Fi Audio sound card included is nothing to shout about but I do think it's a step-up over the on-board solution. By the way, I'm going to hook the sound card via optical out to my old Cambridge Soundworks DTT3500.

Memory: Kingston ValueRAM PC3-10600 DDR3-1333 2x2GB
- I've read the review here, this ValueRAM performs better than its HyperX counterpart.
- Question 2: Say if I underclock the 667MHz to 400MHz (in order to run 1:1 ratio with CPU) will I get impact on system performance? (I know it would be be better to get DDR3-1066 but I can get the 1333 fairly cheap here)

Graphic: Sapphire Radeon HD4870 512MB GDDR5
- I'm not into gaming much but I do get a couple of games from the shelf if they are fun to play.
- I'm current using LG Flatron W2252TQ monitor.

HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB + Western Digital Caviar Green 500GB
- 2 hdds here. I'll use Seagate as my primary system hdd while the Caviar Green for backup and data storage.
- Or Question 3: Shall I do it vice-versa?

Optical: Lite-On iHAS324
- 24X DVD+/-R/RW, nothing much to say about this.

PSU: Corsair TX650