Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Successful OC

Last response: in Overclocking
October 4, 2011 5:13:31 PM

Alright...I need to know how to effectively OC my Phenom II 955 black edition. I tried before on an older build with terrible results. I used the AMD overdrive utility since I am a noob. I kept running into issue with voltage since my psu was only 600 watt. I figured I would try at a later date.

Well now I just built my new system. I have a PNY GTX 580 that has a built in vga and cpu water cooler on it. *big money* My motherboard also has a debug led which shows the temps when everything is running properly. I have noticed a difference in temperatures while observed the debug and the cpu status on the OverDrive utility. They are always different. I thought maybe it was the board temps...nope. It is always about 10 C higher than the software indicates.

For example right now I am getting 28.5-29 C according to the software at idle. While the debug is reading 35-36.

results when stressed 100% at 3.6 GHz:
Software:roughly 41 C after 5 mins.
Debug: reading 48ish after 5 mins.

I obviously do not want to damage my system. If the CPU breaks, I am not too concerned. It is the only order part in the PC that I will upgrade at christmas. But I don't want to break the water cooler on the $600 video card.

I ran into voltage issues on my old build, due to the 4 pin PFC and 600 watt psu. Now I have an AM3+ socket with an 8 pin cpu power with a 1220 psu. So I am fairly confident. But I don't really know when or how much voltage to allow while upping the multiplier. I am also still using my only copy of windows 7.....32 bit. So i am only getting 3.5 gb of ram at 667 mhz. out of 16 gb of 1600 mhz.

Please be kind to my noob questions and thinking. I am new to the OC. Any attempts I have tried in the past either left me with a sketchy video card or many many system hangs.

Thanks

More about : successful

October 4, 2011 5:42:19 PM