Sign in with
Your question

SAS RAID5 array hardware help

Last response: in Storage
May 26, 2011 2:23:54 PM

I've been asked to configure an application server that will use 3 SAS drives in a RAID 5 setup. Since I've never used SAS drives before, I've run into a bit of a jam.

I've settled on this motherboard http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168..., these drives http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168..., and (I think this is right) this RAID card http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168... . The issue is, I'm still not sure about what cables I'll need to get the 3 drives attached to the card. Or if I'll need some kind of enclosure/backplane to house the drives.

I've found some enclosures that seem like they'd work, but like I said, I've never used SAS so I really don't know. Is it as simple as getting an enclosure, inserting the drives, then connecting it to the motherboard with Sata cables?

Any help/suggestions/corrections would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
a c 300 G Storage
May 26, 2011 2:41:18 PM

Well, that is the correct cable. The cable doesn't affect hot-swap capability.
If you have three available drive cages inside the machine, you can keep the drives inside the machine.
You might let us know what your employer or other taskmaster wants from this setup. There are people here with pretty serious enterprise RAID storage experience who might be able to give you guidance to a better setup.
m
l
Related resources
May 26, 2011 3:10:20 PM

Thanks.

So, just to be clear (cause I'm an idiot and I'd rather not screw this up) I can connect the 3 drives to the RAID card with that cable?