Sign in with
Your question

3-4 pin

Last response: in Systems
August 12, 2009 4:52:59 AM

Hi Everybody,
I was looking into building a computer and I had a couple of questions. When plugging in fans for my case what do I plug them into the motherboard or the power supply. Secondly I am a little confused on 3 and 4 pin connectors. What is more common and what do I have to watch for when buying. Lastly I find that both my motherboard and power supply say nothing about having connectors for 3-4 pins unless they are called something different. BTW- this is my first build and I have not yet bought any of the things I need, I am just trying to know everything that might cause a problem to try to avoid it.

Power Supply- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
Motherboard- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Thank You for any comments or suggestions

More about : pin

a b B Homebuilt system
a c 272 ) Power supply
a b V Motherboard
August 12, 2009 4:55:33 AM

The 3 pin connectors on the fan go to the motherboards fan header, they give you the ability to control the speed of the fan. If the fan has a speed control built into it or you just want it to run at full speed you use a 4 pin(Molex) connector from the power supply, the same type that you use for IDE optical drives and hard drives. Use one or the other not both.
a c 122 B Homebuilt system
a c 144 ) Power supply
a c 156 V Motherboard
August 12, 2009 5:55:06 AM

Actually, what you have is 3 and 4 pin fan headers and molex connectors:

3 pin fan: pins 1 -3 - Ground, 12 volt , and sense
4 pin fan: pins 1 - 4 - Ground, 12 volt ,sense, and control.

Molex connectors, by themselves, give you the possibility of two speeds:
full speed, default, 12 volts between black and yellow wires.
half speed by moving the black wire on the fan connector to mate up with the red wire on the power supply connector (puts 7 volts across the fan).