ATI Crossfire "noobie" - Upgrade to 4890x2

Psimon

Distinguished
Dec 19, 2004
I could use some advice from you knowledgeable ones - ATI / Crossfire guru's - concerning upgrading to a Crossfire setup, dual 4890's

My current system specifications:

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-X48-DQ6
CPU: Intel Q6600 Kentsfield C2Q
BIOS: Award (stock BIOS)
RAM: 4GB Corsair Xtreme Performance CM2x1024-6400
HD(s): Western Digital Barracuda's (x3, RAID setup)
Video: EVGA GeForce 9800 GTX 512MB
Audio: Realtek ALC889A (onboard audio)
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 700W
UPS: APC 1300
Case: Coolermaster Stacker (Full Tower)

Monitor (25AUG2009) Samsung Syncmaster 2232BW (22", 1680x1050 max resolution)

A bit of history: I haven't bought an ATI board in over 25 years. Not a NVIDIA "fanboi" (and not wanting to debate it here), I just have a tendency to stay with brands I feel comfortable with over time.

As far as computers go, I'm a hobbyist and gamer. I consider myself knowledgable, maybe expert, but certainly not "guru" level (if that makes sense). I run components at stock speeds and rarely OC; I like performance but also value component longevity and stability.

The Gigabyte GA-X48-DQ6 was an emergency replacement for an ailing ASUS P5B Deluxe and looking more and more to me like one of the best purchases I've made in the last few years. It's been rock-solid and runs relatively cool (credit probably also goes to the Coolermaster case).

The Gigabyte board is a Crossfire board, not SLI. Sooo . . . . .I'm interested in purchasing two HD4890's for just that purpose. Two other components I either WILL have to upgrade, or potentially have to upgrade, are my PSU (maybe) and my monitor (definitely).
I've been pouring over the posts here and trying to find folks with similar setups or concerns but could use some "custom" advice.

Questions/advice requested & more info:

1. 4890 manufacturer.