Sign in with
Your question

Complete noob question

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 2, 2009 3:21:15 PM

How does one actually monitor their GPU and CPU's temp? i'm wondering if temp is the cause of some problems i'm having.

My brand new GTX 275 (see sig for build) has 'stopped responding' on not only crysis but also while playing WoW. so far i'm assuming i need new drivers or something, other than crysis' 1.2 patch, i haven't installed a thing but windows vista 64bit, wow, and crysis as they come out of the box.

ps - all hardware is still at stock setting, no overclocking. this is one reason i'm particularly concerned because i'd like to overclock a little (little enough that i don't need additional cooling). i use stock fan on my cpu, and have added a 120mm fan to the side of my antec 900 right next to the gpu and all stock case fans are on 'High' ... so, if i'm already having temperature issues i obviously won't be overclocking without some additional cooling.

More about : complete noob question

a c 195 U Graphics card
a b Ý World of Warcraft
September 2, 2009 3:52:39 PM

use HW Monitor, leave it running while you are playing a game, it will log the max temperature it hits so you can see it after the game crashes out. I assume you installed drivers after installing windows correct? If not that is likely the source of your issues.
a c 271 U Graphics card
September 2, 2009 4:02:23 PM

Rivatuner, a little bit of playing and you can have an OSD whilst gaming and graphs to check after and a destop gadget when you are just browsing.
Related resources
September 2, 2009 4:24:42 PM

thanks for the suggestions, as mentioned i literally installed windows, wow, crysis, crysis 1.2 patch, nothing more ... it most likely is the drivers that are the problem, but since i was curious about monitoring my temps as well i thought i'd ask.
a b U Graphics card
September 2, 2009 6:49:01 PM