ElectroStatic Discharge

kalmara

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2009
The parts for my new pc are coming tomorrow and I'm going to build it myself. I have never done this before but I'm confident that I know how to. My only problem is electrostatic discharge. I'm afraid that I'm going to fry my new pc by static electricity. I know that one way to avoid this would be to get one of those armbands, but no shops near me sell them and I'm not ordering online because that will take to long. Is there another way that I can avoid ruining my pc without one?

I dont even own one of the wrist bands, i have worked on my machines countless times, you just have to make sure you choose where you work on your machine carefully. Dont work on carpet, dont walk around while building without regrounding yourself. Touch a piece of grounded metal such as a cold water pipe before you start building. Make sure to touch the metal case once in a while, it will reduce the static significantly. Moderate humidity also decreases static significantly compared to dry air, you have probably noticed that static is usually worse in the winter than the summer, that is why.

wathman

Distinguished
Jun 22, 2009
and don't rub balloons on your head while building.

Though seriously, in my house, just about all the plumbing is PEX tubing and I'm not even sure if PEX conducts electricity well. I've always just touched the PSU casing while it's plugged in the wall to use the electrical circuit's ground.

notzaar

Distinguished
Aug 11, 2009
The wristbands are a waste of money. Just touch something grounded (like the casing of a plugged in power supply).

VinnyChase

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2009