Sign in with
Your question

Need help with i5-2300 overclock.. (beginner)

Tags:
  • Intel
  • Overclocking
  • Intel i5
Last response: in Overclocking
October 10, 2011 4:36:54 AM

Thanks ahead of time for any help that can be provided...

I have a dell xps8300

GRAPHICS: EVGA GTX570
PS: Extreme Power Supply Plus 700w (guessing i might need to upgrade to better quality?)

all other info is listed in link above....

I am trying to get a basic idea or just help with how to OC my i5-2300?
i am not a complete beginner but def far from advanced so i really appreciate any insight that can be given as to where to begin and what needs to be done....

Thanks again,
Kevin

More about : 2300 overclock beginner

a b K Overclocking
October 10, 2011 5:15:03 AM

well lets start with, i would highly suggest getting an aftermarket cooler, if you have the extra money for it the best choice would be water/liquid...
you dont need a better psu for o/c'ing...
i personaly know 2 routes you can take

turbo boost, intels own overclocking utility, dont ask me how to use it... im sure google can help you there

#2 would be overclocking via BIOS, unfortunately i cant tell you if yours is unlocked because bestbuy isnt showing an exact model to track down, but... go into bios settings when its going thru POST (usually showing a pic of your manufacturer now) and look for somthing such as "Frequency control" if its greyed out, then its locked and i cant help you there
m
l
October 10, 2011 9:29:17 PM

i appreciate your help... I am becoming more educated on the topic but its a slow process for me being that i work alot... might be a completely idiotic question but how do i get to my bios settings?
i am going to look right now for the intel boosting tool, but ive seen post online reguarding my exact processor (i5-2300) saying its a k series but opposite popular belief it can be OC'd...
if you have anything that will help me in the right direction i appreciate it!!
thanks again,
kevin
m
l