Sign in with
Your question

OC'ing Q6600 (OC newbie here...help!)

Last response: in Overclocking
October 15, 2011 12:47:57 AM

Hi All,

I am planning of OC'ing my Q6600 from stock of 2.40Ghz to 3.0Ghz and after browsing the net, I've read that this can be done with stock voltage and stock cooling. Is this really as easy as changing the FSB from 266 to 333?!

Also, after doing so, what would you advise me to check to make sure I am not stressing my processor? (would temp check suffice?)

Thanks!

Intel Q6600 2.40Gz
Team Xtreem DDR2 1066 4GB
EMAXX P45-PRO (i know this is a not-so-known brand; but i had a hard time finding a LGA775 mobo when my last one broke)
Sapphire 6870 1GB
Windows 7 64-bit
Inwin Maelstrom

More about : ing q6600 newbie

a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
October 15, 2011 1:15:40 AM

You also want to lock pci-e to 100. Then your going to want to manually set ram speed,timing,and voltage if possible. With the stock fan you will still want to manually set cpu voltage to get better optimized for heat output.

Give this a read, it will give some idea of what to do. http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/259899-29-core-overcl...

A simple Google search will yeild other maybe more informative guides, but that will get you started.
m
l
October 15, 2011 1:22:52 AM

Thanks will give that a read.
m
l
Related resources
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
October 15, 2011 1:51:31 AM

There are lots of guides to overclocking these cpu's. It is frequently possible to get them to 3.5GHz, maybe beyond. Those chips produce a lot of heat so how far you can go with stock cooling is always questionable. I overclocked one to 3.5GHz but I used a good Xigmatek cooler.