Sign in with
Your question

$1300-$1500 gaming rig

Last response: in Systems
August 17, 2009 5:27:10 PM

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: This week

BUDGET RANGE: $1300-$1500 (preferably closer to $1300)

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: gaming, video rendering, photoshop, some music making

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: mouse, os

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: newegg, tigerdirect

PARTS PREFERENCES: Intel I7, Nvidia GTX 275

OVERCLOCKING: Yes

SLI OR CROSSFIRE:Yes/maybe (see additional comments)

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1920x1200

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: This is my very first build, and I need some advice. I want to save as much as I can through combo deals, but I'm have trouble finding the best deals, so I need help on that. I want the price to at least end up at $1300, and what I have so far (without combo deals) end up $1506.07 (excluding the monitor). I want to be able to play Crysis smoothly. I'm wondering whether I should get both GTX 275s now, or get one now and wait later until the price drops to pick up another one? What do you guys think? I'm also not sure which motherboard I should buy. And will I need an 850w power supply if I'm going to run 2 GTX 275s in sli and OC the I7 to 3.6 Ghz, or will a 750w be enough? I'm not factoring the monitor in the price budget, so the final price will be around $1300-$1400 without the monitor. Tell me if any of these parts are incompatible, or if you see something that should be changed.

CPU: Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor Model BX80601920 - Retail

Motherboard: EVGA 141-BL-E757-TR LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX X58 SLI LE Intel Motherboard - Retail

RAM: OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Low Voltage Desktop Memory Model OCZ3P1600LV6GK - Retail

Cooling: Scythe MUGEN-2 SCMG-2000 120mm Sleeve CPU Cooler - Retail
UPDATE: I've decided to change it to this:
XIGMATEK Dark Knight-S1283V 120mm Long Life Bearing CPU Cooler - Retail