My pc cant stay on for more then 10 sec,m Help please

t-blan

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2009
Hello I'm a newbie but i gut the basic knowledge for fixing a computer but i just don't know it all, I had a bare bone PC , KT4AV from msi it was working perfectly and i turn it off and the day after and when i try too turn it back on it wouldn't , i try every thing , i remove all the component and the only thing left was basic components needed for it work.(CPU + CPU fan, Memory,video card , power supply , power switch and power led , I try different power supply , memory but i turn it on and the bios havent event show yet and it turn off by it self .
Comment and suggestion are welcome , because I'm using P4 PC and it ain't that good :cry:

Spec (MSI KT4AV Amd processor, 3 GB of memory, 2x 80GB HD , 1x 30GB HD , Windows XP Pro, Nvidia Geforce MX 400 )

So are you able to get into the bios? The description is a bit confusing..

It looks like you have several older hard drives. Have you tested removing one by one?
I would try using only the processor, video card if you don't have onboard video, and 1 stick of memory. If you can't get into the bios, I would suspect a bad mobo.

rambo117

Distinguished
Jun 25, 2008

outlander is most definately right.

i had the same problem (funny story), i bought a new artic cooling freezer 64 pro, i put it on my cpu and my comp stayed on for about 10-15 sec. when i got into bios, my CPU temp was at a whopping 110C!!!

i had forgotten to take off the plastic guard from the cpu heatsink. i removed it and booted up fine :p

robertwhite_51

Distinguished
Aug 18, 2009