OC i7-2600k, voltage, benchmarks, heat, resetting on restart

LT2011

Distinguished
May 19, 2011
I am new to overclocking but not to computers. I am not a gamer. This is my new rig
i7-2600k,
P8P67 Pro
Corsair 4Gx2, 1600 mHz
Zelman nts9500.

I have read the recommendations from Asus experts. My issues are:

I can easily do 4653 with: 103mHz, 45 multiples. If I use 1.24V, peak cpu temp is ~60C, and it is stable with cinebench cpu stress test. If I use 1.25V, peak cpu temps are in mid-60s.
Both settings are stable with cinebench, but crashes with prime95.

Asus guys are recommending far higher voltage that really heats up cpu.
If I am NOT a gamer, and cinebench is stable, do I need to worry about prime95?

Antoher thing: I set OC through AI suite/win 7.
Most of the time when I restart the computer, OC settings go to default. Anyone else having same experience?
If I set OC through BIOS, would it make any difference?

Do the overclocking through the bios only. I've never gotten a stable overclock with any windows program. First try increasing the cpu multiplier, from 34 to 36...up to 48, depending on your temps. Maximum cpu temp at idle 50c. Under load, maybe 70c tops for brief periods of time. I personally wouldn't run the cpu voltage setting higher than 1.35 volts. I don't use prime95; never got it to run error free on some boards even at the default settings. Save your receipts for the cpu, and if it frys, you simply have to tell Intel it won't post anymore. I used Intel's retail box warranty once. They cross shipped a new cpu and I received it in about six days.

LT2011

Distinguished
May 19, 2011