To much Free Space

leftspeaker2000

Distinguished
Jun 1, 2009
Hey guys i have an external HDD i have been using for maybe 6 months now running on my windows 7 pc. The HDD is 1.5 Tb with 1.36 being usable after format. My problem is for some reason it is report i have 72gb Free which i dont when i right click and go properties on the disk it says 1.29 TB free Capacity 1.36. So the numbers do not make sense, i have ran disk check and defrag and turned of system restore to no avail. Any help would be great.

What program is it exactly that's telling you that you have 72GB free? If it's Disk Manager then it means your partition isn't using up the entire drive. Windows Explorer only reports the free space INSIDE the partition, Disk Manager reports the free space OUTSIDE ALL PARTITIONS on the ENTIRE DRIVE.

I'm a little confused by your explanation.

In your first post you said: "i right click and go properties on the disk it says 1.29 TB free" and "some reason it is report i have 72gb Free"

...and in your second post you said: "windows explore that is reporting the error, but if i go into disk management ( disk manger ? ) it says the same thing Capacity 1397 free soace 72.09"

So if Windows Explorer and Disk Manager are reporting 72GB free, then what program is telling you that you have 1.29TB free?

Screenshots might help.

Just to repeat, the "free" space shown by disk manager is not the same as the "free" space shown by Windows Explorer. Let me draw an analogy:

You have a cabinet with four shelves in it for storing books. You organize the shelves so that each one holds different kinds of books - fiction on the top shelf, reference books on the 2nd shelf, and cook books on the 3rd shelf. In this analogy the shelves are partitions, which correspond to drive letters on your computer. The cabinet itself is analogous to the entire disk drive.