Cooking oil cooling?

Morsing

Distinguished
Oct 19, 2011
Hey guys, new user, first time poster, long time reader of the forums here. I wasn't sure which sub forum this belongs in, hence any moderators who does know, is more than welcome to move this topic.
So, to the point! I have a old system just standing around at my parents house and i've been fascinated with the idea of trying to cool this in some unconventional ways, my brother is a industrial cooling technician, and we started bouncing some ideas around about cooling a system with oil and a external pump. We thought the most economic way to try this out would be with some kinda vegetable oil, I asked one of my teachers (I am currently an apprentice IT-supporter) that I know is a watercooling veteran. He told me that there are some kind of acids in vegetable oil that will eventually ruin a coating on the PCB's of the system and cause it to fail.
My question to you, the gurus, is this true? If yes, is there another kind of oil that we could use instead?
If vegetable oil is suitable, I might be able to run some test this weekend and will, ofcourse, upload them here if anyone is interested in this little project of mine.
Thanks in advance guys!

beenthere

Distinguished
While I believe there are some oils that may work for your purpose, it's worth understanding that oils as a group are lousy for cooling purposes. Oil absorbs and dissipates heat very slowly compared to water and many other liquids. Oil is often used in large electrical transformers for cooling because it's cheap and a viable solution.

I can't think of any PC application where it would even be remotely worth the effort to use oil cooling vs. air. Cooling the PC board isn't necessary at all as air cooling is fine so that leaves the CPU and possibly Vid card, both of which can easily be cooled with air or water without being submersed - which is what I believe you are considering?

Morsing

Distinguished
Oct 19, 2011