I7 860 Turbo mode / OC

Hi,

I'm planning to assemble a new rig with the i7 860 mainly for gaming and movie watching.

I want to know if I can run the Turbo Mode all the time - all reviews state that the turbo mode is excellent for gaming. Is it designed to be run permanently?

Also, I'm planning to buy either the Intel P55 motherboard or MSI P55 GD80. While I'm not an overclocker, can I run the OC Genie (MSI auto OC) instead of the Turbo Mode 24/7? Basically, I just want to squeeze maximum fps from my games. Assuming that I employ adequate cooling, can I run the OC Genie permanently?
6 answers Last reply
More about turbo mode
  1. Can someone answer me please? I know its kinda basic, but I'm new to overclocking.
  2. Turbo mode is meant to run 24/7. As for overclocking, I tend not to trust those auto-OC programs like the MSI OC genie. Either leave it on stock settings (turbo included), or overclock manually.
  3. What turbo mode does is take programs that only use 1 core and turn the speed up on that single core so that program runs faster. You'll want to leave that option on 24/7 if you don't OC.

If you aren't going to OC, then don't worry about the genie, just leave it in the bottle.

If you want the MAX FSP from your games, you may want to consider OCing the CPU. That will add more performance than to all applications, multi thread or single. Check out the Overclocking section to see if that something you want to get into.

As for your CPU choice, if all you do is game and watch movies, I'd suggest getting the i5 750 instead and spend the extra $80 on a better graphics card. That will have better performance than the 860 with a lesser GPU. If you do OC, both CPUs will perform about the same in games, just one cost less. Depending on the OC, you might not want Turbo on, but that's a discussion we'll deal with if you do OC.
  4. Thanks a lot! I really appreciate it.