Status
Not open for further replies.

Shmister

Distinguished
Oct 18, 2011
Hi im new to watercooling but would like to start doing it on my new setup.
Intel i7-2600k/Maximus Extreme IV Z/ Cooler Master Haf X case. I dont know what would be a good kit to do some good overclocking with or would it be possible to jsut stick with a NH D14. Any help is greatly appreciated Thanks :)

beenthere

Distinguished
As noted in a number of threads H2O cooling is more a hobby than a set-and-forget type of PC CPU cooling system. The link below has test data on the popular air-cooled HSF and some H2O units for comparison. If you just want a quality CPU cooler that you can install and forget, then I recommend the air-cooled HSFs.

If you want to explore H2O cooling as a hobby then the other links should help get you started. H2O cooling is considerably more expensive for little gains however. I do not recommend the closed loop H2O systems like Corsair, Antec, etc. as these are very inefficient and often less capable than the better air-cooled HSFs. In addition leaks on these closed loop systems have been know to damaged other PC components which doesn't happen with an air-cooled HSF.

http://www.frostytech.com/top5heatsinks.cfm#INTELHEATSINK

rubix_1011

Contributing Writer
As noted in a number of threads H2O cooling is more a hobby than a set-and-forget type of PC CPU cooling system.

I've pretty much set-and-forgotten my watercooling loop. Yes, it requires more 'initial' setup and once a year maintenance, but other than that- a well built loop shouldn't have any issues. Yes, it is just as much hobby as it is cooling solution- which is the fantastic beauty of it all. Just because you express a fear of water next to electronics, doesn't mean you should attempt to sway people's opinions of avoiding it because 'it causes damage to components'.

I haven't touched the water, fitting or block in over a year. Same water has been in there about 2.5 years or so, with no issues.